Yellow stains in pool from iron-Salt pool procedure

Jun 9, 2014
Charlotte, NC
Hi there. Vinyl liner has a lot of stains, did the vitamin c test on pool steps and it cleared the stain. I have a salt pool and plan to do the ascorbic acid treatment using a sequestering agent but,
was wondering if i have to use a special sequestering agent for a salt pool or the same stuff a chlorine pool would use?? Planning to use one of the Jacks Magic products for the sequestering agent. Thanks in advance.

OK, I understand that salt turns into chlorine but that wasn’t my question. I actually converted my chlorine pool that was using the bleach method to a saltwater system last year, and since I’m new with this system I wasn’t sure if regular sequestrant would affect my salt cell in any way, which is why I asked if this group recommended a special sequestrant for salt systems that wouldn’t affect the cell. Ive never had to use any form of sequestrant before & again didn’t know if I needed something different than a normal chlorine bleach method pool.

Sequesterants will not effect your salt cell.

There is no difference between a “chlorine “ pool and a “salt” pool other then you have an additional piece of equipment, the SWG. All the same precautions apply as to maintaining proper water chemistry as you begin adding stuff to your water.

Use Jacks Purple Stuff as the sequestrant with your SWG.

Last edited:
Reactions: aesweeps
A salt water pool is considered a high TDS water body. The major component of that TDS are sodium ions (Na+). Because sequestering agents are anionic compounds (they have negative charges to them), you want to use a sequestering agent that’s formulated to work when there are higher concentrations of metallic species in the water. The Jacks Magic products formulated for salt water pools will give you the performance you are looking for.

Reactions: aesweeps