Wiring Salt Water Generator

hbg16

Mar 16, 2020
Raleigh, NC
Hi All,

I apologize at this might be lengthy but need to explain so you have the full picture. I just purchased a Salt Water Generator and am going to install it very soon. At the end of last season I purchased a VSP which I love. I have a separate Intermatic timer which I used with my original pump before I switched to my VSP which has an onboard timer.

That said now that I am going to install my SWG I will need to hook that up to a timer. Here is where I am running into my question. Below I have inserted a diagram of my current wiring setup. As you can see I have my timer connected to the breaker in my sub-panel and then from the timer I have it run to another single breaker box and then from there to the pump. (I inherited this setup and I am not an electrician but very handy).

Pool Wiring Setup Up.PNG

1. I would ideally like to have my existing timer still available incase there is an issue with the onboard one on my VSP.
2. If I hook up the new SWG to either the existing timer or single breaker that the VSP goes to then my timer wil control both the VSP and SWG so the onboard timer is not needed.

I guess I am just asking has anyone run into this and what did you do? or Does anyone have any suggestions for me?

Thank you in advance for any help and direction.

Howie

Saltwater systems are required to have a primary and secondary way to ensure that the cell never has power when the pump is off.. In the old days this was easy, as you simply connected the pump and the salt system to the same source of power. Unfortunately, VS pumps get constant AC power, so that idea no longer works.