Will epoxy correct cracks in newly poured shotcrete pool?

Novadad

Aug 15, 2021
Northern Virginia
I am having a gunite shell pool built in Northern Virginia. I have never done this before, so everything is new and the learning curve has been steep for me. The land engineer discovered rock only a foot and a half into the ground in my backyard, and the rocks had to be broken and carted away for 3+ days. As far as I could tell, my pool will be sitting on rock.

The pool builder subcontracted the shotcrete pouring. That subcontractor showed up with a wrong mixture and couldn’t pour much and had to return another day. The day after the second pouring, I began to spray water on it and did so for a week.

The day after that second pouring, a hairline crack appeared across the entire width of the pool. It has gotten thicker since (it’s been about three weeks) and other cracks have appeared as well. When queried about the cracks, the builder told me that they will be resolved with epoxy. Not having any experience in the matter, I read up on it and found contradicting information online, some suggesting that’s fine, others suggesting it‘s inadequate. Is this an appropriate solution? I’d appreciate some input from more experienced experts and owners here.

I’m attaching the photographs of the cracks with this post.

ADD0D24E-DB41-49D8-8348-25FD96141244.jpegE1E227F4-253F-44C0-AA48-3DD059E01121.jpeg2C85808D-1A83-43A1-B368-B036910792F1.jpeg57CF9AA8-4AE4-49F1-A5FC-F12B1EC37D31.jpeg

Seeing the cracks tells me nothing if they are structural or cosmetic spider cracks.

Do you have pictures of the rebar framed hole before the gunite was shot?

Do you have pictures of what the coverage was on the rebar after the first attempt?

Was there rebar to be encased by the second pour?

Was a bonding coat put on between the first and second pour?