White cloud when add shock

CTUcker22

May 19, 2021
Georgia
I opened the pool 2 weeks ago and it’s sparkling but I can’t get the chlorine right. It’s a 75000 gallon community pool I’ve been running for 4 years. My partner added 26 ounces of algeside last eeek and since then when I put shock in it forms a white mass for a couple of minutes and then dissipates. I went to Leslies and had the waterchecked. Their instructions were to add 28 lbs of alkalinity up- wait 4 hours and add 25 lbs of chlorine granuals. I did this last night - i checked it around 5 the next day- O chlorine and 6.8 PH? Can anyone offer suggestions?

NOTE: Per intro post this is a *public* pool-

Are you relying on Leslie's for your pool water testing? You *need* a far better way of testing and I would suggest the TF-100 XL for this size pool. www.tftestkits.net

You would probably get better results and spend less money by using liquid chlorine. The TFP method relies on only putting in the chemicals that the testing says are needed. Routine "shocking" is not a feature of our methods.

Alkalinity Up is nothing more than Baking Soda at 3x the price. Buy large bags of it at Walmart or Costco for savings. Same product.

Do you run any CYA in your water?

Maddie :flower:

Reactions: CTUcker22
I opened the pool 2 weeks ago and it’s sparkling but I can’t get the chlorine right. It’s a 75000 gallon community pool I’ve been running for 4 years. My partner added 26 ounces of algeside last eeek and since then when I put shock in it forms a white mass for a couple of minutes and then dissipates. I went to Leslies and had the waterchecked. Their instructions were to add 28 lbs of alkalinity up- wait 4 hours and add 25 lbs of chlorine granuals. I did this last night - i checked it around 5 the next day- O chlorine and 6.8 PH? Can anyone offer suggestions?
You really are not qualified to operate a commercial pool.

You are putting people’s health and safety at risk.