When to do first test after install

FireBeard

Jul 9, 2020
Piedmont, OK
Hello All!

I'm loving all the information I have stumbled across on this site, so first off thanks! I am brand new to the pool world and having a 24' ABG pool installed a week from today.
I try my best to research and hope to be ready as soon as possible to swim once it's installed. I have a couple questions off the bat.
  1. Do I need to wait any specific amount of time once pool is filled with water to start testing with the TF-100 kit?
  2. Out of preparation, I purchased some chemicals based on information I've found on this site (Listed below). Is this a good start?
    1. (5) gal Chlorinating Liquid (Pool Essentials 10% | Walmart), (2) 20 Mule Team Borax boxes (Walmart), 4lb Chlorine Stablizer 100% Cyanuric Acid (Walmart)
Lastly, I have been given the option of burying pool up to 24". I'm considering only burying 12" and mainly for aesthetics with fence line and such.
Researched and don't feel an issue since it's rated for up to 2 1/2ft. However, any major con to doing this? I plan on doing it but have time to change my mind.

Again thanks for all the help!
-Brandon

Welcome to TFP.

You can begin testing pH and TA immediately upon filling.

Then add your chlorine and stabilizer.

Begin your pool care schedule and testing 24 hours later.

Reactions: FireBeard
Welcome to TFP.

You can begin testing pH and TA immediately upon filling.

Then add your chlorine and stabilizer.

Begin your pool care schedule and testing 24 hours later.

Thanks Allen! Appreciate the link. I actually searched but guess I missed this one.

Test your tap water. It's good for practice and that way you know the parameters of the water you're adding to the pool.

For pH, TA and CH.

Don't waste your reagents testing for CYA or chlorine.

Reactions: Dtkokay
For pH, TA and CH.

Don't waste your reagents testing for CYA or chlorine.