What would I benefit from automation when considering my setup?

GrizwaldO

Jun 12, 2020
Elkhorn, NE
I am trying to understand if/what I would benefit from adding automation to my setup. My build has not started (fiberglass pool currently being constructed), so now is the time to finalize a decision. My setup (in sig) seems pretty straightforward, so I'm wrestling with whether or not I have enough to worry about automating. Any and all input is appreciated!

It's really a personal choice. I'm a tech guy...have Internet controlled HVAC thermostats, 4 iPads, stream everything to Apple TVs, etc. How about you? Like to control things from your phone/tablet? Want to create schedules?

I'm a tech guy as well, jimbethesda! I'm just trying to figure out if it would be worth it based on my equipment and fairly simple setup. From what I understand, my heat pump I'm getting is a "set it and forget it" regarding temp. The pump can be programmed for runtime and speeds. The SWG detects waterflow, so it will turn on and off with the pump.

The bubblers and slide I'll have to manually turn on and off, and bump up the pump. Perhaps that's where I benefit? I guess it would be "cool" to adjust the lighting remotely, but definitely not necessary. Maybe I am not thinking of something that would make automation more appealing to spend the dollars on.

Side note... my wife and kids are home all summer long, so the pool will be used daily.

Something A LOT of people (or, Customers in my world) forget is that a full blown auto controller will control much more than your pool. I can't honestly remember if my signature says it, but my OmniLogic controls my backyard water feature, my deck lighting and my landscape lighting. Auto controllers have high voltage relays which, in essence, control about anything you'd have in your backyard, house, shop.........I think you get the point. I sell the OmniLogic more as a "back yard controller", instead of just a pool controller. My 2 cents anyway.