Well she's open!

LoneWolfArcher

Bronze Supporter
May 29, 2019
Michigan
The good? This is my third opening and the pool had some algae, but not nearly as much as the last two years. I attribute that to TFP! In fact, I opened last night and you can already see the bottom.

The bad? Had a couple of pretty good leaks, mostly related to some flex PVC that has been exposed to UV for 18 years. Soooooo.

I spent the better part of the day replacing all the bad and cracked flex PVC and anything (rigid PVC) that it was glued too. Let it all cure up tonight and it is now running with no leaks!

Did a chlorine test tonight, and CYA. I've been fighting high CYA since 2018 when I bought the house. Now after three drains to close the pool my CYA is at 50-60 (I'm calling it 60, but it was pretty close to 50!l FC was 11 and CC was 1.

So all in all a good opening. Filter is running to finish clearing the pool.

Also, anyone have any ideas for sun shades over the pad? That sun is brutal on the equipment.

I had to replace PVC, too. My "professional" plumber used the wrong pvc. He did not use pipes/connections that could handle pressure. We have had a slight leak for years, but can't find it. Since it is a small leak, we are not paying "leak detectors" to tell us "yep, you have a leak." I am pretty sure our leak is under the concrete pool deck, so that will be a huge expense.

As for shade for the filter and pump, this is what we bought to shade our grill, but we decided to use it for the pool equipment. It came with led lights and 2 glass shelves with hooks for hanging grilling tools. I think we have used it for 3-4 years, but I need to remove the top and sew up a split in the fabric.