Water Chemistry - Pool Frog?

sweetnaz01

Sep 1, 2021
south florida
Moved from here.
Hi everyone, we just bought a 21feet above ground pool, about 10,000 gallons. I've gotten a lot of mixed information, so I'm hoping for some knowledge and clarification from the experts here.
  • I grew up with an inground pool, so i have some knowledge, and I'm baffled that I'm being told not to use liquid chlorine and only tablets and granules, basic chemistry would say, dilution of liquid, pour slow and move it = less damage to liner. sitting and dissolving solids = more damage, so not sure what the heck these sellers are saying from the pool shops lol thoughts?
  • anyone heard of this thing: Frog Flippin' Frog XL Complete Pool Care System - it maxes at 10,000 gallons, i think it's a waste of money in south Florida heat and rain. it's failed to keep the levels up, maybe it's good for a weekly maintenance while i treat the water manually.
  • i'm trying to learn, do i use this weekly or bi-weekly or based on what the readings are: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07YKWDZPW/
  • or do i stick to old school test the water and add what's needed lol
  • sometimes i think, these automated systems that has come out are a waste of money because there's so many variables in treating water, literally.
thanks in advance, looking forward to learning from you all
- naz

Attachments

• 20210819_182345-01.jpg
    20210819_182345-01.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 15
  • 20210830_173939.jpg
    20210830_173939.jpg
    428.4 KB · Views: 15
Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome to TFP :)

Stick with the old school way and run away from "frog anything" or any other low chlorine myth..

Being in Florida you have great access to liquid chlorine, you can get carboys with 12.5% chlorine.. You want to test and dose daily..

Test Kits Compared

Once you have one of the test kits we can get you going :)

Reactions: Mdragger88
Stick with your own old school testing and using the recommended chemicals.