Variable Speed Pump and Valve Setting Suggestions?

Jul 16, 2018
Austin, Tx
Good news, everyone! I graduated my PB's pool school this morning. (I look forward to your graduation gifts.) Unfortunately, the course on pump run time was limited to "in the summer, I'd run it at 3000 rpm from about 10 to 6." I know that's not taking advantage of the variable-ness of my Hayward Tristar VS 950, and I'm hoping y'all have some suggestions for me as to speeds and pump run time. I've read through the forum and I understand that most times this gets asked, the answer is "everyone's pool is different." Which I understand, and I'm not scared of fiddling with things a bit, but if y'all can give me a starting point that would be a huge help because I'm lost right now.

I don't have an SWG or a heater, so I know the only reason I need the pump is for circulation and filtering (can be at low speed) and skimming (higher speed). But I have a couple other considerations: I have a Polaris 360 pressure cleaner that isn't on a booster pump, so the pump needs to run high for it to sweep (I assume that will be the same period as when I'm skimming). And the other catch is, we have a waterfall water feature, again run off the main pump, and my wife likes the noise from it so I'd like to at least run the pump high enough during the "low" period to put water out of the waterfall during the daylight hours.

Right now I'm thinking about running at a low speed from 8-8, just high enough to put water out of the waterfall. and then ramping up a couple times a day for a couple hours each, to skim and run the cleaner. Does that sound reasonable? Any ideas on speeds? The pump will operate from 600-3450 rpm, but I just don't know where in there to pick.