Variable Pump Questions

Marines75

Jun 18, 2017
Cold Spring, NY
Good Morning! I just got a Pentair Variable Speed pump. I have a SWG and Heater, what should my settings be so I can be most efficient with the SWG and Heater. I am new to the variable pumps and kind of lost.

Also, When you backwash, do you wait for the pump to finish priming or can you backwash while it is priming. It seems that I am losing some sand from my filter when I back wash. Is the setting too high?

Thank you so much for all your guys help. I really appreciate it.

I am new to pools in general, but I run my pump at 1200 RPM 24/7 and have it programmed to increase the RPM to 1400 when the heat pump or chiller calls to get sufficient flow and return to 1200 when done. The 1200 provides enough flow for the SWG and good skimming and still only costs me about $15 per month!

I can’t speak to the backwash question, sorry.

Backwash your filter. (note your pump pressure so that you know your baseline). Turn on your SWG and you heater so both are running. Reduce your pump rpm until the heater turns off or the SWG turns off due to low flow. Note that rpm. Add 100 RPM and then multiply by 1.2. This is your minimum RPM (more later). The 100 is to keep the SWCG on. The .2% increase is to accommodate a dirty filter and still allow the SWG and heater to run.

Backwash your filter when pressure rises 25% from baseline clean filter. If you run above min RPM and do backwash with 25% rise, your SWG and heater should always work.

You could run lower RPM that the minimum we calculated, but you want to backwash more often than 25% rise.

I would run 24/7 at the calculated minimum for chlorinating and heating. Run for a couple days. If you don't like the skimming, then choose a period of time for the pump to run higher, maybe 2000-2200 for a period of time. My min is 1750, costs me about 24$ a month to run the pump and my skimming is just fine.

Hope that helps...