Time needed to see change in Chlorine results

Vs6817

Apr 26, 2020
Tracy, CA
Hi all!

I’m still very new to this whole managing and maintaining my own pool water chemistry and for the time being I am using Chlorine tablets because the previous owners of the home left them. I plan on trying out liquid chlorine after I run out of these tablets and then determine at that time which method is best for me and my pool. But for the time being I am using the tablets. But my question is how long does it typically take to see an increase in the chlorine levels when I add tablets? I am using 1” tablets and I haven’t really seen much of an increase in my chlorine levels. I’m also new to performing the actual test so I could be doing something wrong on the testing side as well but I believe I’m following those steps correctly.

Tablets suck at raising chlorine levels, they are designed to slowly release chlorine to maintain a level. If you need to quickly raise your FC then dosing liquid chlorine is the best option.

What he said^^^

And if the pool is green or even cloudy or murky, you may never see an increase, because the algae uses it up as fast as it dissolves.

Be aware that those 1" tablets are almost certainly trichlor, which adds a whole lot of CYA to the water, literally 6 ppm CYA for every 10 FC. Raising the CYA means you need to raise the FC level, so you'd have to add more tablets, which adds a whole lot of CYA to the water, which means you need to raise the FC level, so you'd have to add more tablets.... and you see where this is going. It ends with a recommendation to empty the pool and start over. So be aware. And maybe you'll want to switch to bleach sooner rather than later and save the tablets for vacations. Keep the bucket closed tight and they'll last for years,

Reactions: Vs6817