Corona de Tucson, AZ
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
CircuPool Universal40
A brief hello since it is suggested.. I'll add more as the next weeks go by.

I moved to the Tucson area from Iowa about a year and a half ago and I made the promise to my wife that I would find her a place with a pool. When she decided to buy a house without one, I figured... whew! I dodged a bullet.

Not so much. We are going to have a pool built on our property, and all of the fun that dealing with contractors/sub-contractors entails. Yes we are getting a late start, even for Tucson. I will go into that in more detail later, but it even involved a small property dispute (on a brand new home even) and we ended up getting more bids than I normally would because of some crazy schtuff (and that I am an engineer and am picky) from some of the contractors.

In the process, my wife and I decided to get a small, "portable" spa instead of building one with the pool. I did that job completely by myself and it went quickly (without a land dispute, either!) I am using it and so far am quite successfully keeping the water balanced (once I burned through a lot of TA). So I hopefully will be able to scale this up in the probably three months it will take to build the in ground. It will be gunite, Pebble Sheen and I am guessing about 13,000 gallons.

Right now, I probably will take a lot of gruff for combining a cheapish titration kit with some of the tests I had left over from a Lamotte Beer brewing water test kit, but the reagents were getting old in that kit anyway (I actually won it at Homebrewcon 2017) so I want to use up what I can as I don't brew often enough otherwise, and I also use an electronic pH meter (that I re-calibrate several times a week to buffered standards). For the spa (currently running chlorine) the only thing I really miss with all of this is the FAS-DPD kit.