Apr 2, 2021
Austin, TX
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Howdy folks,

Pool newbie here. First I'd like to say thanks to all of you. Because of this forum, I've learned how to maintain crystal clear water and all of my physical pool equipment. You've also given me the courage to download SLConfig and re-program my EasyTouch, which is now working just as I'd like it to. So, thanks! Special shout out to @Jimrahbe and @JamesW for their guidance and insight related to programming the EasyTouch! Your posts have been super helpful.

I have two final questions related to my pool's Automation System.

First - I have a Pentair Ultratemp 140 H/C. The heat pump is setup on the Solar circuit of my EasyTouch, so I can set the temperature range that I wish to keep the water within. I'm in Austin, TX, so mostly dealing with chilling now that the summer has finally arrived. I've noticed (and have read here that this is an issue) that occasionally my pool temp as read by the automation system can oscillate at the high end of the set temperature range such that the heat pump turns itself on / off every few minutes. I don't want to burn out my equipment, so I've been manually monitoring when my heat pump turns on to chill the pool during the day, and sometimes adjusting the upper boundary so that the system just remains on vs. the on/off cycle. Eg. Upper bound set at 88 degrees, automation system reads temp at 89, then back to 88, then back to 89. So I reset the upper bound down to 86 until later in the afternoon when I manually put it back up again. I'd like to figure out if there is a solution to this. I believe I've seen some threads about a possible hardware / software solution, but I can't seem to track it down. Any help appreciated!