So lost- total newbie... need help!

larkruiz

Jun 8, 2023
IL
Hi! First time ever owning a pool. Round 15'X42 above ground vinyl. Just filled it up with hose house water. Ph reads 7.7, but TA reads 250. I went to the pool store to get the water tested and they recommended adding 10lbs of dry acid???!! That seems like a CRAAAZY amount of dry acid. Plus, won't the HP level drop drastically? And they said to add 1lbs at a time and wait 3-4 hrs before adding more. There's gotta be a better, easier, and faster way. Please help!

Welcome to TFP.
TA and pH are just 2 components of balancing your pool water.
It is best to keep your pH in the 7’s and over time your TA will slowly decline. Please read Managing pH and Total Alkalinity - Further Reading
Also dry acid has some specific uses but we prefer Muriatic Acid to adjust pH and TA.

It is also important to measure FC and CC and CYA
How do you plan to sanitize your pool? We would recommend only using Liquid Chlorine and stay away from pucks.
Please read
Pool Care Basics

Thank you so much for your response! I'm only using liquid chlorine. So, a follow up question... as it stands, the water has only been treated with 2.5 cups of liquid chlorine. Should I just leave the TA alone even though it's at 250? Will it come down on its own?

Also, do not use dry acid to reduce pH. Use muriatic acid. Dry adds sulphates...no bueno for el poolo.

Welcome to TFP!!

Get your own kit and manage your pool, don't let the pool store manage your pool. (Ask me why). Link-->Test Kits Compared

Start here. Link-->Pool Care Basics

Always follow this. Link-->FC/CYA Levels

Why TFP??? Link-->How Clear is TFP Clear?

Where are you in IL? My family is all from just west of Pontiac!

Sincerely,
PoolStored

Also, do not use dry acid to reduce pH. Use muriatic acid. Dry adds sulphates...no bueno for el poolo.

Welcome to TFP!!

Get your own kit and manage your pool, don't let the pool store manage your pool. (Ask me why). Link-->Test Kits Compared