Scaling worry...

sean.a.hyde

Gold Supporter
Jun 5, 2018
Pittsburgh, PA
I just finished draining, replumbing, opening, and then salting my pool.
All new pump, filter, SWCG, plumbing (and I think not too bad a job since I've never done this before).
Image from iOS (11).jpg

When I refilled my pool, I had brought it only up to the min of the skimmers. I normally keep my Autocover closed for safety (and to keep heat in), and so I keep a pump on top to pump the water off to edge of the yard. We were getting some rain so I simply moved the end of the hose into the skimmer so that I could capture the water and fill the pool a little more. That was a week ago. As I wrapped up the finishing touches on the plumbing today, I went to move the hose end out of the skimmer basket and realized the brass threaded end was pretty well crusted with white crusties.

I immediately thought of scaling, but my CSI from a couple days ago was -0.34 (FC: 9.5, pH: 7.6, TA: 60, CH: 350, Temp: 75-80).

Should I be worried about this?

I believe brass and chlorine do not play well together.

Hmmm. I'm also seeing what looks like scaling on the anode I put in a week ago.
Image from iOS (12).jpg

Do you think this is caused by having the brass in the water, or am I just getting scaling on all pieces of metal, and if so, why?
I just tested everything again, and although my chlorine is still a bit high (even though I only have the SWCG at 10% -- guess I need it lower for now), my CSI still is coming up slightly negative...
I verified the pH meter reading with the color drop test.
I suspect that I may be measuring my TA wrong based on how much acid I had to add the last time I lowered my pH, but even if I was off by a factor of 3, my CSI would still be well within range.

I doubt you have an issue. No idea on an anode. Never had one and it is really not necessary.

I would relax. Enjoy your pool.

Eye irritation is from CC or low pH. If your FC is below SLAM level, you will not notice it.