Salt Water Hot Tub Issues

HouseLamp

In The Industry
Aug 22, 2020
Canada
Hi all,

I'm new here on the forum and hope to find a solution for my hot tub issues between all the great minds on here and contribute any input on issues that arise!

I operate a commercial hot tub system and I'm also a certified pool operator.

The hot tub is a fibreglass 792 US Gallon tub and uses a Low Salt Water Cell combined with a Hayward ProLogic CAT controller.

I'm having a consistent battle with balancing the tub. It's drained and cleaned every week, probes cleaned monthly.

Chlorine:
The ORP never truly sits at a consistent reading, when you think its a steady ORP 795 for example and Total Chlorine is at 4ppm, hours later the chlorine could be 10+PPM and ORP 850.
If i try to be conservative and set the ORP at 750 and the Total Chlorine is at 4ppm, hours later the chlorine can be 0.2ppm and the ORP at 790, therefore not creating any. I understand the effect of adding alkalinity, and that driving down the ORP temporarily...etc

Alkalinity:
It rapidly reduces on an hourly basis, from 150ppm to 4ppm after only 10 or so people have used it. The acid is diluted from anywhere from 30% to 80% with water. Having no luck in the alkalinity at least being more stable or longer lasting. I go through so much of it!

Salt:
I use the correct calculation to add salt after the hot tub has drained and filled, 1200ppm is the desired number, but by the end of a week it can be over 3000ppm with no salt added...?

I run a number of other standard chlorine and acid style hot tubs and i can test and troubleshoot them with my eyes shut. Very simple systems. But i'm new to salt and after studying the CAT controller functions, doing all things by the book, this salt water hot tub does not seem to sync up. I'm either in need of some tips or i feel the system is just not meant to be used for a heavy used commercial hot tub.

Fibreglass shell: