Replacing gaskets in Hayward multivalve?

Saturn94

Bronze Supporter
Mar 11, 2015
SE Virginia
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Hayward Aqua Rite (T-15)
Last season I noticed my multivalve (Hayward Variflo SP710XR50) was leaking just a little under the handle. The valve was installed in March 2004 and has never been serviced, so I figured it’s problably time to replace the gaskets inside.

I found a few videos online about replacing the spider gasket, but not the others in the shaft assembly.

Can anyone point me to a good how to video or offer tips on how to do this successfully?

Any other parts I should go ahead and replace while I’m in there?

I’ve never done this before, but I’ve successfully replaced pump seals and a pump motor before, so I figured I could handle this as well with good instructions (visuals are always helpful).

Thanks. :)

I bought a gasket set for mine a while back and it still ended up leaking. So I just bought the whole top assembly instead (It was maybe $50-$70 from amazon). It came with all the gaskets already in. Unscrewed the old one, screwed the new one on, good as new. Glad I did it because the old one's handle was loose and everything.

I bought a gasket set for mine a while back and it still ended up leaking. So I just bought the whole top assembly instead (It was maybe $50-$70 from amazon). It came with all the gaskets already in. Unscrewed the old one, screwed the new one on, good as new. Glad I did it because the old one's handle was loose and everything.

I thought of that, but that’s about double what I would pay for the parts.

Depending on what other responses I get, I may still consider doing what you did.

Thanks. :)

Thanks again, Russell. Looks like you’re the only one to respond.

I guess I’ll just have to move forward on my own and see what happens. Wish me luck.