Re-plaster chemical balancing

Nov 26, 2013
Elkridge, MD
So I got my pool replastered today, and the pool company told me how to cure it, what chemicals to add and when, etc, but I figured since I've been using the TFP method for the last several years, I'd double-check the process. Below is the process he laid out for me:

1. Once filled up, add muriatic acid to lower the pH to cure the plaster, along with 2x daily brushings (4 gallons acid per 10,000 gallons of water, so i added 12.5 gallons). I tested the water before adding anything and my TA was between 30 and 40, and my pH was actually over the 8.2 on my test kit.
2. After the week of curing/brushing, add pH increaser to get it back to ~7.0 pH. Based on the Pool math calculator, my pH should be at 4.0 now (I assume it will rise over the next week as it cures?). I planned on getting "pH increaser" from Wal-Mart or the pool store, let me know if i should use an alternative instead
3. He said to mix the pH increaser with water in a bucket and add it to the pool, it should raise the pH to 7.0 slowly over a few days.
4. Once it's at 7.0, I can turn the pump on and balance my chemicals. No salt (for the SWG) for 30 days, use chlorine tablets or liquid chlorine in the meantime. Should I raise it to shock levels first, then lower the chlorine, or will it be fine since it was newly plastered and acidified?
5. I assume I should get my CH, TA, and CYA up at this point in time? Any particular order?

He also said not to use the heater for a month as it could 'bake' the plaster that's brushed off to the pipes in the heater...is that valid? Any options for getting the pool to swim temps without the heater?

Any additions or corrections to his instructions would be helpful. I want to make sure I don't have a crazy summer trying to keep things balanced or mess up the plaster and equipment by adding the wrong stuff at the wrong times.

Thanks, that is what I was looking for. So quick follow-up questions: