Rapid CHanges in pH

scgms1

May 4, 2016
Canyon Lake, CA
We built this pool in 2003, so I've had 15 years of experience with this. I've noticed over the years that the pH has been very consistent, usually in the 7.6 range. Acid was something I have on hand, but only small amounts were needed. Something has changed recently and I'm askingfor advice.

6/9/18 Test Results

FAC - 3
TAC - 3
CH - 350
CYA - 60
pH - 8 Where exactly it is, I'm not sure as that's as high as I can see using Leslie's 81329 test kit
TA - 200

I'm out of acid so I run down to a local pool supply company and pick up 4gallons.

I add 1/2 gallon and I'm at checking it the next day-

pH 8
TA 200

I add 1 gallon and the following day-

pH 7.8
TA 160

4 days later I test it again and the pH is back up

pH 8
TA 140

I call the pool supply place and ask about the MA. It looked fresh in brand new bottles and crates, but I don't know. Nope, we haven't had any problems. I go to Leslie's and pick up 2 gallons of MA.

Multiple tests later and a total of 5 gallons of MA I get -

pH 7.4
TA 110

I think I finally got this until I checked the water 4 days later

pH 8
TA 120

I dumped another gallon in yesterday and here are my results this morning -

FAC 6
TAC 6
CH 340
CYA 70
pH 7.4
TA 120

I've been using Bleach and had put some in to get the FAC & TAC up. We hadn't used tablets for a while, but I recently put some in.

Any ideas on what to look for? I'm at a loss here and have been lax on checking the pH & TA, only because it has been stable for many years. This seems to defy science...Thank you

Re: Rapid Changes In pH

Things to check:

- the expiration date of your testing ingredients. They can go bad over time. Perhaps buy a fresh set of reagents just to verify that is not the problem. You'll need them eventually if not.