Questions about changing to SWCG with regards to generator size and water balance

Dominique81

Sep 30, 2019
Costa Blanca, Spain
Good day everyone,

Now I use liquid chlorine to treat the water. I have been doing this for two years now according to the TFP method and it works fine.

However, I'm thinking about installing a SWCG and I'm looking into it. Now I have some questions and hope you can help me.

1. You have SWCG that measure Free Chlorine, ORP and Redox (is the same if I’m correct) and where the installation can be set with a percentage.
The IC40 seemed correct and simple for my setup to install, but in Europe it is not easy to get.

Since I have pretty much everything from Astralpool, I looked on their website first and notice a lot of variety.
The installation that measures free chlorine is expensive and someone also said that such a sensor should be seen as a consumable. Furthermore, it only measures up to 5 ppm FC. If your CYA is 80, then you need an FC of 6. So, this option is out.

ORP is not recommended here on the forum. A colleague of mine has such an installation and his problems seemed familiar to me from what I've read on the forum.

Now I found a SWCG on their website where the production can be regulated in steps of 10% (0-90%). So, this is preferable if I understand correctly?

2. My pool is 62 m3 (16K US gal).
The SWCG I have in mind is good for 120 m3 (32k US gal) above 25 Celsius (77 Fahrenheit), 140 m3 (37k US gal) between 16-24 Celsius (61-76 Fahrenheit).

This should suffice or do you recommend its bigger brother 160 m3 (42k US gal) above 25 Celsius (77 Fahrenheit).

I have a single speed pump (2 years old), I am not going to replace it for that reason. The flow is 16 m3/hr (4200 gal/hr), the SWCG for 42K US gal needs 8 m3/hr (2000 gal/hr). So, it shouldn't be a problem in my eyes, except for a slightly higher electricity bill compared to a variable speed pump?