Question on buying a new pump and sand filter

Jun 6, 2018
Parkersburg, WV
Hi.....haven't posted for awhile because sadly here in WV it's winter time but I'm thinking about buying a new pump and sand filter for the new swimming year and just had a few questions. I'm VERY new to the owning a pool world, last year being the first year and I asked alot of questions and got a lot of help so thought I would come back again with a few questions I have.

First quick question is when we covered up the pool this past fall I didn't realize it but the cover we used had a little tiny hole in it and some dirty water has gotten in the pool. I noticed it about a month after first covering it and to dip water out of it the water is clear but to look down into the water you can tell it's dirty so I'm sure it's all laying on the floor of the pool. Do you think when I open up my pool this spring that I will have to empty all the water out and start over? Will I have to SHOCK it? Or will I just have to wait and test it and then go from there?

Now the real question here is about buying a new pump and sand filter. The pool is my boyfriend's and I'm not 100% sure if it's a 15ft or 16ft but I believe it's one of the two and it's 3 1/2 ft deep. The sand filter and pump that I currently have my boyfriend bought used a couple years before and for some who might remember I had trouble with the psi never going over 2-4 so thought the gauge was broke so I bought a new one but even with the new one it never went above that so I decided I would see about maybe getting a whole new pump and filter system so I know what I'm working with. So I found what I think I want but I don't know anything at all about pumps and filter systems so I wanted to make sure it will work and work good with the size of pool that I have.

The information for the one that I am looking at is........

Hayward VL40T32S VL Series Above Ground Swimming Pool Sand Filter with Pump System
- 13"Sand Filter with 30 GPM Pump