Pump/Filter Run time

mrnmrslodge

Jul 20, 2020
Burlington, NJ
Hey everyone! I’m a newbie here. My husband and I just installed an above ground pool and we have never owned a pool before. Love this site and the pool math calculator..so helpful!! However, we need some help about how long we should be running our filter/pump. We have a 21 foot round, 10,500 gallon pool.

We also have a Hayward XStream 150 Cartridge Filter System 1.5-HP Power-Flo Pump (Flow rate of 120 gallons per minute or 57,600 gallons in 8 hours.)

Thank you in advance!

Welcome to the forum!
How are you chlorinating the pool water?
Time to run the pump depends on if you are using a SaltWater Chlorine Generator to chlorinate or if you will be adding liquid chlorine to the pool every day.
Also how much skimming is needed.
Let us know the above and we can provide some guidance.
I suggest you read ABC's of Pool Water Chemistry.

Great. So you need to circulate the water each day after adding the liquid chlorine. Depending on your skimming needs, you can run the pump 4-6 hours each day with adding the liquid chlorine at least 30 minutes prior to the pump turning off.

I would suggest you consider getting your own proper test kit. I suggest the TF-100 A proper test kit is needed to get the accurate water chemistry results needed to follow the TFP protocols.