Aug 10, 2022
Washington
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hi,
I recently purchased the Taylor 2006c kit. I ran some tests but also took some water to the pool store to compare numbers. According to Taylor kit my TA is 125 but the pool store report says it’s 83. I did the Taylor test several times to double check my work. Any advice? I’m new to pool maintenance so a bit nervous on what numbers to go by

Hi,
I recently purchased the Taylor 2006c kit. I ran some tests but also took some water to the pool store to compare numbers. According to Taylor kit my TA is 125 but the pool store report says it’s 83. I did the Taylor test several times to double check my work. Any advice? I’m new to pool maintenance so a bit nervous on what numbers to go by
In my experience, the pool store numbers are not accurate. If you are using the Taylor test kit your numbers should be very accurate. On a side note; do not go to the pool store for help. They are mostly there to sell you expensive pool chemicals using test equipment that is not as accurate as the results that you can get at home. Learn the BBB pool method and you will never need to bring in a sample to the pool store again. Hope this helps!

Reactions: eviittaa
Some pool stores provide an “adjusted Alkalinity”. By deducting the cyanurate acid portion of the TA to provide an adjusted Alkalinity. Look at the test data & any notes they provided.

Please refer to the TFP Wiki on TA - here is the info from it. You did not post your CYA number but you could be comparing apples to oranges. Furthermore, as others have stated - pool store results are notoriously inaccurate so take there results it with a grain of salt. So if you have the K2006 test kit - ALWAYS GO BY YOUR TEST DATA. Don’t try to compare between pool stores as it will drive you insane

Start Quote
Cyanurate does contribute to the TA.