Pool leak, underground water being squeezed or condensation.

Aug 7, 2022
Rhode Island
Hi All!

Complete newbie here. Never had a pool before.

We just completed having our 24x54 pool installed. We put water 1” above the white marker line to ensure no water leak and checked it the following day. Water remained above the water line. We let the water run all day and over night. Getting up in the morning I have 22” of water filled and noticed water coming from under the pool in a small section. At first I thought it was a water leak but after reviewing this forum I learned it may be condensation or water being squeezed out of the ground. in order determine what it could be, I shut off the running water, doing the bucket test and will reexamine tomorrow.

We have been in the middle of a heat wave for weeks and have not had rain in almost a month. Our water table is always low.

I am attaching a picture for your advice.

Thank you in advance for your comments.

The Pool Newbie.

Attachments

• 5F0D764F-2AF9-43B7-92C5-D8F47EF9CC70.jpeg
    5F0D764F-2AF9-43B7-92C5-D8F47EF9CC70.jpeg
    455 KB · Views: 30
If there were no soggy spots prior to laying the liner, sorry, but with that dry ground and the localized puddling, sure looks like leaking pool water to me. Also, if leaking water the spot will only grow in size or wet, so that's another test. If it were anything else from outside, it should dry quickly.

Last edited:
Thanks Toxophlite, After the hot day today I checked the pool water level and it is unchanged. The bucket dropped down a half an inch.

However the puddle did grow slightly. New picture attached. The edge of the rock was the line this morning. As you can see it has grown half the size of the rock. Would a leak be that slight?

Attachments

• 96AF6E44-E01D-423B-B212-5687BDC5A940.jpeg
    96AF6E44-E01D-423B-B212-5687BDC5A940.jpeg
    405.2 KB · Views: 27