Pool closing in Northeast

Pamelalocke

Jun 30, 2020
Lockport ny
can someone please give a very detailed description on how to close a pool with a sand filter in the northeast. I am a novice and have no idea what to do. I thought I had seen such a description but now I cannot find it. Thank you.

Read the above article. It is a start. Post any questions you have here.

Pamela, look at the sticky in this section. The best thing to do is actually upload some pictures if you need help closing your pool. You will need an air compressor or professional pool blower and a helping hand. If you have no main drain, then you can easily use a shop vac. Please describe your pool, etc.

MommaHuffman,

I used to worry about that as well. Actually, you would probably never have to change the sand. I would do it if I ever replaced the filter, but only then.

Think about it...the ocean pounds this sand for millions of years, then we harvest it, bag it, and sell it to pool owners. According to the pool store, NEW sand has much sharper edges than OLD sand. Thus, you should change it every couple years. In reality, if it came with "sharp" edges when you bought it, a few years inside your pool filter cannot possibly affect it like a few thousand or million years of bashing against rocks, beaches, coastlines, etc.

Welcome to TFP. Consider becoming a supporter when you can. You can easily pay for it with all the money these folks on this site will save you.

Reactions: MommaHuffman
The only time I would recommend ever changing the sand is if the person used "magic potions" and clarifiers, and/or the ground near the pump would just flood the whole area. I have not cleaned my sand since the 2015 build, but I have to figure out a way to have the water drain on the grass and down the hill, if my filtering capacity ever diminishes.