Please help me!!!

Ajordan99

Jun 5, 2022
Richland springs texas
We have an intex above ground pool with a sand filter and we run it salt water. I have this mess on the bottom of my pool and I don’t know what it is. I’ve shocked the pool. I just can’t get it out. I can scoop some out with a net but there is just too much and it’s too fine. We have no trees near us. It’s definitely a green color and I can brush most of it loose so I have it all pushed into the corner. Is this algae? If so what kind and how do I get rid of it fast?!? I can add more pics of what it looks like out of the water if needed. Let me add we have well water and I’ll post a pic of the strip after I shocked the pool. I am a complete newbie and have no idea what I am doing so I need dumbed down answers please the water is crystal clear but the bottom is a bit slimy. Not bad but a little bit. It’s a 24x12x48 I believe

Attachments

• E16A6081-6BCA-401B-A14A-8DB8BA047545.jpeg
    E16A6081-6BCA-401B-A14A-8DB8BA047545.jpeg
    321.7 KB · Views: 15
  • 2CBF47AF-6294-4259-A8C2-EF7A8BDD1548.jpeg
    2CBF47AF-6294-4259-A8C2-EF7A8BDD1548.jpeg
    388.4 KB · Views: 13
Last edited:
Welcome to TFP!

I am fairly new here but have read enough to believe I can help get you started. TFP advocates using only two test kits. Everything else (whether strips or performed at a pool store) is suspect.

The recommended test kits are either the TF-100 from tftestkits.net or the Taylor K-2006C available on Amazon. You can read more about test kits here: Test Kits Compared

When you have a few minutes, it will also be helpful for the more experienced users if you fill out your profile and signature with more specifics about your pool (size in gallons?), equipment, etc.... You can look at mine for an example.