Pentair master temp 400 afs light

bdenhart06

Mar 28, 2020
Richmond Tx
I have a Pentair Mastertemp 400 with an AFS light on. The heater turns on and runs for 10 seconds and turns off and throws the light on. Before this light came on I replaced the pressure switch, high limit switch, thermistor, manifold bypass valve, and control board due to an issue caused by the bypass valve in the manifold. When removing my manifold I noticed my coils were in good shape and didn't have and water in the heat exchanger. I put my ohm meter on the afs switch and it is good. When I bypass the switch and turn the heater on it runs and then starts getting really loud and shaky before I shut it off so I don't mess something up. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

From what I saw when I had the blower off it didn't look that dirty. Is this a common problem? Could it be the igniter control module or the blower not blowing hard enough? It ran all day long 2 days ago after I changed all the parts out with no issues and once I went to turn it on yesterday it threw the afs code.

When I bypass the switch and turn the heater on it runs and then starts getting really loud and shaky...
That might be due to poor water flow or air flow. If you're confident about the water flow, I think that you're probably going to have to check the heat exchanger for sooting.

If it was a water flow issue, the high limit led would probably be coming on.

Since you're getting an AFS led, that points to an airflow problem.

Check the blower for signs of mouse nests. If the blower is clear, check the heat exchanger.

Check the thermal regulator to make sure that it's ok.

Try running the heater with the thermal regulator left out to see if that makes any difference.

When the heater starts, press and hold the On button to make the exhaust temperature display.

If the heater sounds bad on startup, shut it off quickly.

Enjoying this content?

Support TFP with a donation.

Give Support
Just opened it up