Pentair IC-40 troubleshooting

jdubs12

Sep 15, 2020
Fort Wayne, IN
Hi all! I am new to pools. This will be our first full season. Last year our salt cell worked well and this year it seems to have some serious issues. I've researched all of the other threads and there are a lot of solutions that involve splicing wires, etc. I'm not totally opposed to that but not as technically savvy as some of the people on here. Here is the situation. When I first turn on power, the red low salt light flashes. No other lights come on, not the flow light or anything else. Then after a minute or so all lights go off. I guess if there are steps to trouble shoot this I would love to hear them. I already checked the cell and it's clean as a whistle. What next? Do I just need a new cell?

When an IC40 is first powered up for the day, the Green and Red salt lights flash, kind of like at a railroad crossing.. This just means the cell is running a salt calibration test.

For the salt test to work at all, the flow light needs to be green.

If the cell does not have any lights at all, either the cell is not getting power, or the cell is bad...

How old is the cell?

Is this a standalone set up with an External Power Center, or do you have an EasyTouch with a built-in SWCG power center??

I suggest that you disconnect the cell from the power center or EasyTouch and make sure the pins in the connector are not corroded.. If ok, reconnect it.

Even when a cell is old and not producing chlorine, they generally still light up.

Thanks,

Jim R.

T

When an IC40 is first powered up for the day, the Green and Red salt lights flash, kind of like at a railroad crossing.. This just means the cell is running a salt calibration test.

For the salt test to work at all, the flow light needs to be green.

If the cell does not have any lights at all, either the cell is not getting power, or the cell is bad...

How old is the cell?