Pentair FNS Plus Internal Air Bleed Screen Keeps coming off

ivymasters1

Feb 8, 2023
032663ilh
I replaced my the air bleed on my DE manifold because the screen on the old one kept coming off letting DE medium through the returns and back into the pool. However, the new one is doing the same thing. I am so frustrated because I cannot clean my pool up and taking the filter apart to put the screen back on takes a toll on this old girl. It seems to happen mostly when I back wash. How can I prevent this from happening every time I backwash? I am still trying to clean up my pool from the hurricanes here in Florida, which requires frequent backwashing, but that is very difficult because the DE medium keeps flooding back into the pool.

I am not an expert!

I had a similar problem which I traced to a large crack in the frame that holds the fabric "sails" in place. Pool water flows through the frame and DE was leaking through the crack.

I confess that I "glued" the crack closed. It wasn't a simple glueing. I ground out the crack a bit and cleaned the surfaces with acetone. Then I used quite a bit of a waterproof epoxy product in several layers. I don't recall the brand. It worked. Unless you are adventurous and thrifty you might want to just replace the part.

The crack was on the bottom and not really visible unless the whole frame was removed.

Another possible cause is a tear in one of the sails. These can be replaced.

Again, I am not an expert.

I am not an expert!

I had a similar problem which I traced to a large crack in the frame that holds the fabric "sails" in place. Pool water flows through the frame and DE was leaking through the crack.

I confess that I "glued" the crack closed. It wasn't a simple glueing. I ground out the crack a bit and cleaned the surfaces with acetone. Then I used quite a bit of a waterproof epoxy product in several layers. I don't recall the brand. It worked. Unless you are adventurous and thrifty you might want to just replace the part.