Mar 27, 2023
Florida
Pool Size
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Jandy Truclear / Ei
Hi all,

I bought a house a year ago that has a salt water pool. It persistently gets green algae - mostly on the grout near the surface, all around the pool, even at the skimmer which has a lot of flow, but also patches at the bottom of the walls, corners, steps. It used to brush off quite easily but now I’m getting stubborn patches that won’t brush away.

I have my water tested regularly and it shows perfect chlorine levels, 4ppm. And stabiliser levels are good. The only thing out is the pH is a bit high at 8. The pool shop just suggested turning up my chlorinator but no other advice.

I run my pump around 3000 rpm for one hour, then 2500rpm for 7 hours and I’m based in South Florida so lots of sun. Pool is around 12,000 gallons from my very rough estimation.

This is my first time owning a pool, so is it normal to always have to brush algae away (like daily) or should the chlorine prevent any algae? And how do I tackle the stubborn patches?

Thanks in advance.

Danny,

The idea that 4 ppm of FC is good depends on the level of your CYA (Stablizer) which can't be 'good' it has to have a number.

The higher the CYA the higher the FC needs to be.

That said, once you get algae, normal FC levels will never be able to kill it. You need to perform what we call a SLAM to get rid of algae.
SLAM Process

To perform a SLAM you have to be able to test the pool water yourself, as you have to do it often.. This requires a 'real' test kit.

You should take a long read through our pool school and see what we are all about.

Thanks,

Jim R.

Hi all,