Opening up a Salt water pool

May 3, 2021
NYC
Hi. This is my first year opening my salt water pool (12x24:10,000 gallons of water). There is plenty of algae in the pool; pretty much coating my whole floor. I opened it today and I'm currently just cycling the water (not filtering it through the earth filter) and I've added 2lbs of shock.

Questions:
1) Is there any issue with adding the salt bags now? It can only help since it's needed by the system to create chlorine, correct? Or is there a reason why I should hold off on this?
2) Will I actually see the floor clear up (the green go away) as the algae is getting killed by the chlorine/shock? Or will the shock just kill the algae, but then I have to vacuum the floor to get rid of that green?

Any additional advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

1) Is there any issue with adding the salt bags now?
No. You can add salt anytime if it's actually need and confirmed. More salt doesn't equate to more chlorine.

2) Will I actually see the floor clear up (the green go away) as the algae is getting killed by the chlorine/shock? Or will the shock just kill the algae, but then I have to vacuum the floor to get rid of that green?
Using liquid chlorine and a proper test kit, you need to follow the SLAM Process. Follow that page carefully and you'll take care of it. No shortcuts through with the process or water testing. If you have any questions let us know.

Using liquid chlorine and a proper test kit, you need to follow the SLAM Process. Follow that page carefully and you'll take care of it. No shortcuts through with the process or water testing. If you have any questions let us know.
OK, but, as I follow the SLAM, will I actually see the floor clear up (the green go away) as the algae is getting killed by the chlorine/shock? Or will the shock just kill the algae, but then I have to vacuum the floor to get rid of that green?