germaine58

Jun 1, 2018
Southern NH
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Morning, I live in southern NH which barely has a spring; we are going from 40's to upper 60's and my water is still around 52 degrees. I was hoping to be pro-active and wondered, can I bring out my motor and hook up all the tubes, fill the water to mid-skimmer and be more prepared when the temperature of the H2O gets around 60? Also don't want to open too early so as to avoid the pollen and little flying things that fall off trees. One last question, this is my first time hooking up the motor, filter and tubes myself; how do I get the sand filter filled with H2O? Does it fill automatically when the H2O is at the correct level? Just imagining turning on the motor and everything blowing up!

Reactions: Newdude
There’s no harm in doing it in stages. Be sure to check the weather for freezing temps & plan to be able to circulate if that occurs.
Hook everything thing up then as it fills check for leaks etc. When you move the multi port valve to filter or backwash (w/the pump off) the water should fill the filter. Be sure to let the air out of the pump basket before tuning on the pump.
I would suggest backwashing & rinsing before running it on filter for the first time.
You can then run the pool w/ the cover on & test the water etc. You will also need to be sure u keep the cover pumped off if it rains as it will displace the water in the pool. I often do it this way so “opening weekend” isn’t so daunting as it’s split up.

Reactions: germaine58
Even if the sand filter was still filled with air when you turned on the pump, the pump would just push that air into the pool via the returns.

Don't forget to open the valves. When you turn on the pump, put a hand in the pool in front of a return to make sure water is flowing.