Omnilogic salt water generator not detected - solved

Kirk569

Jan 31, 2020
Niceville, Florida
All,

This is a post from my experience as a new pool owner finding myself dealing with Omnilogic issues after a bad thunderstorm. I saw several other issues just like mine in the forums but never saw a solution. It took me a long time but I figured out a lot on my own.

I came home from work one day to find a comm error in my Omnilogic. I had only owned the home for a month and had no pool hardware experience yet. I followed the troubleshooting guide and deleted the DDT. I then reloaded a back-up configuration and realized my salt water generator has all zeros for voltage, amps, temp, and everything else. I also then noticed my pool robot cleaner was no longer working. Being an aerospace engineer I dug into the trouble shooting manuals completely and and it looked like I had a more serious issue and a board was probably bad. I did call my local Hayward dealer and he confirmed the board was bad (he was wrong), but since he had no idea how to program Omnilogic he suggested I replace the board myself and maybe call Hayward for help in doing a new configuration. He politely explained that he does not know how to configure them. I did try another pool guy and heard the same thing, "....sorry, no experience. These Omnilogic things are too complicated for me...."

Being on my own now I went with PoolWeb and ordered a new display, board, and transformer. I decided to refresh the display and transformer as long as I had it apart. The display I had was very old and the touch screen was not working well. I photographed everything before disconnecting wires. I had numerous XML file back-ups from the previous owners so I knew I had a good configuration file to reload after the upgrade.