No water flow from solar heater when its turned on

Hey Fritz, helpful advice already, that's great. Sounds like the solar loop is fouled, and the check valve is the easiest (first) thing to look at. The check valve where water flows up to the solar valve sounds fine, because I believe you mentioned that all is normal when solar bypass is 100%.

I hope it's the solar check valve, and just something stuck in it you can simply pull out. If it's the tubing, I have no experience clearing it. Solar systems I've worked with operate every day while wet, just for a few minutes, so pool chlorine kills any algae hiding in any nooks and crannies, and also getting rid of stale water in the tubes, which drain after.

If it were mine, when the solar check valve is removed, I'd crack the pump on, and all water going to the solar. It's going to be messy, so maybe some sheets of plywood protecting stuff and redirecting water somewhere un-permanently-harmful. It may take 3 minutes (ish) for the system to fill and be fully flowing. At that point, it should be a strong 1.5" diameter stream of water shooting out a few inches. Then turn the pump off to prevent any avoidable damage or too much water waste. Maybe also, some blockage will get freed. If debris or algae was coming out, I'd leave it running a bit longer.

If we get to the tubes, there's a product called ahh-some used in spas for cleaning out films of bio-gunk. Maybe the system could be filled backwards from the VRV somehow (funnel?).

Hopefully it's the check valve!! Nice to meet you via TFP.

Reactions: PoolGate