southern utah
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-40
Hi all,

I just recently took over my pool from my builder and am working on getting the water chemistry correct. I am new to this and have read the ABC's (still a little confusing to me). I have the TF pool kit and tested my water for the first time last week. Since I am new to this I took my time. I was curious to see how close I was at testing my own water so I also took a sample to my local Leslies pools and had them do a test as well. Here are the results.

Test I did on 3/29/2020
FC - 5
TA - 200 ppm
CH - 350 ppm
Salt -2800 ppm
CYA - 0
pH 7.8
TC- 5

Leslies pool results
FC - 3ppm
TA - 120
CH - 140
Salt - 2800 ppm
CYA - 0
pH - 7.6
TC - 3

Results i did myself on 4/6/2020
FC - 9.5
TA - 140 ppm
CH - 450 ppm
Salt 3200 ppm
CYA - 0
pH - 8.2
TC - 10
On Leslies pool printout it recommended that I add Calcium hardness plus, some pool conditioner for the CYA, and some salt to get my PPM up. The only thing I have added was a 40lb bag of salt. The leslie pool said the CYA wasnt as critical and recommends only adding it to outdoor uncovered pools( mine is covered when not in use),and 1 lb chlora brite shock since we have swam in it a few times. Any advice or things I can do to make sure I am doing my tests properly. Also on one of the tests(I believe the alkilinity) it says to drop the drops until the color changes to red. my color changes to a pinkish color, would that be the stopping point.

Last edited:
First thing to remember .... avoid pol store testing. Their results will only confuse and baffle you. :crazy: No kidding. Its's amazing the things they come up with. If your number are the ones on the right, then I would say the following: