RedSoxFan

Jun 6, 2015
Boston/MA
I'm brand new to to TFP method. Have stopped using Pristine Blue and reviewed Pool School over and over. Recently added a Culator and Metal Free to remove any Pristine Blue and pool is now crystal clear (save a little floor staining) that is fading (via the chlorine -I'm assuming).

Levels are:
PH 7.6
FC 2.0
TA 90
CYA 30
CH 20

NOTE: The above test results are the levels before I used Pool Math and added: 8 oz of dry acid, 24 oz of dry stabilizer and 24 oz. of liquid bleach.

Do you all think I'm off to a good start? I've been hesitant to add the full CYA Pool Math amount recommended as I keep reading that you can't remove CYA without emptying. But I keep adding - so perhaps I should have followed Pool Math's first recommendation. Observation - the dry conditioner or stabilizer is much less expensive than the Natural Chemistry liquid ($33 a gallon) but I'm having a hard time getting the dry CYA to dissolve. I left it in a bucket, stirred it and poured it in and still see a lot of granuels on the floor which I tried to sweep.

Someone mentioned using a "sock". What kind of sock and where?

Do the majority of TFP members use dry stabilizer or liquid?

Last question - I am using strictly liquid chlorine bleach 12.5% but if I were to go away for a week, I could or should use the pucks to deliver steady chlorine and I'd be ok with my CYA if I only did this for a week? Note: I've never used pucks.

mknauss

Mod Squad
TFP Expert
Bronze Supporter
May 3, 2014
Laughlin, NV
Pool Size
Surface
Fiberglass
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-40

In the article is a description on adding CYA using the sock method. A thin knee sock or knee high nylon works great. The granules should get mushy in a couple hours and squeezing the sock will release the CYA quickly.