New to hot tubs

Jun 23, 2012
Farmington wv
Hey guys I’m new to hot tubs. Just repaired freeze damage to a j355 tub the was given to me. It’s now filled and powered. I have have been using liquid chlorine the same as I use in my pool. I have been using acid the get ph under control. Which I think it is now balanced.
What help can everyone give me on water balance. Should I stay with chlorine or switch to bromine? Should I add cya to my tub? Also what about ch? I have never really watched it much in my vinyl liner pool. Is it important in a fiberglass hot tub?
Current test
Fc 5
Cc 0
Ta 40
Ph 7.4
Ch 40
Cya 0

The ta is about as low as u wanna go - you may experience ph bounce. 50 is usually the lowest recommended. Adding some baking soda to get to 50/60 or probably a good idea.
A spa has alot of aeration so the ph will need to be regularly adjusted. Every time u lower ph you will also be lowering ta.
Adjusting the filtration settings & keeping the jets off unless u are using the tub can help. In my tub if the water level is a little low the jets create alot of turbulence when they are just in “standby” so I try to keep it high enough to prevent that.
30-50ppm of Borates can assist with the ph rise as well.
Using boric acid is the easiest way.
Cya of 20-40 ppm is recommended to combat the harshness of the chlorine on people & equipment (like your cover, headrests etc) & give u some wiggle room between target fc & zero. Did I mention the high bather load/fc demand?
You can use dichlor to raise cya as well as fc & then go back to bleach when you reach 20-40ppm cya. The dichlor is acidic & will lower ph as well so be mindful of that.
Or u can just use stabilizer although tiny amounts can be a little hard to measure.
Always follow the FC/CYA Levels
The fc demand in a spa is like a roller coaster compared to a pool because of the bather load in such a small amount of water & the heat. It’s essentially people soup & must be treated as such.