PuppyLove

Jun 6, 2021
Swanton, OH
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
Hi, I'm new to this. I've been reading and learning but I'm still having some issues. I grew up with a pool but haven't had one since I was a teen. I'm almost 50 and we just put one up a couple of weeks ago and I've never done saltwater.
The pool is a 15' round 52" high and holds 5,300 gallons.
On 5/21 we filled the pool.
On 5/23 I took a sample to the pool store to see where I was starting. I added 1# of baking soda and 1 gallon of bleach to start.
On 5/24 I added 3 bags of salt.
On 5/25 I started the swg at 50% for 6 hrs a day, filter is running 12 hrs a day. (My swg only tells me % and high or low salt, it's not fancy).
On 5/30 I took up another sample (I didn't have my test kit yet) and added 2# baking soda and another gallon of bleach.

I received my Tayor K-2006C test kit and on 6/3 I tried doing the tests myself. The chlorine part was confusing so I did it twice.
Once with a 10ml sample, came up with .5 for both free and combined. Did it again with the 25ml sample and came up with .2 for both.
Ph was 7.6
TA was 90
Salt was 2800
I need to retest the calcium because I didn't get the right colors and saw after the fact how to fix that.
I did not test the CYA as I hadn't yet put any in.

Took another sample up yesterday to see if they came up with same thing I did, They said I had no chlorine, salt was 2800, PH was good.
Came home and vacuumed the pool. Added 2 gallons of bleach and half of a bottle of CYA into the skimmer (about .75#). Got in and finally enjoyed the pool. The filter has been running since yesterday morning. Swg ran longer yesterday, and is on again today, still at 50%.

My water is crystal clear, but we are starting a stretch of 90 heat and the pool sits in the full sun all day and I know that can change quickly. I understand that the SWG wont run correctly until the levels are not right.