Need Help Figuring Out Valves On New Pool

Kleezmaa

Sep 28, 2019
Los Angeles
Hi All. I'm new to pool ownership and have a few questions about the plumbing... hoping one of you can help. I am basically trying to figure out what each of these valves below controls and how I can reduce the suction at the main drain so that my automatic pool cleaner doesn't get stuck on it. I also want to know how I can vacuum to waste so that I can clean up some of the debris at the bottom of my pool. Can anyone figure out what the 3 numbered valves do and answer my questions based on the pictures below? I can provide more pictures or info if necessary. Thanks in advance!
Pic 1.jpgPic 2.jpg

Without being there it 's hard to say what pulls from and what goes where. I will tell you that when a valve handle is perpendicular to a pipe that it's in stalled in (like a cross), the valve is open. The handle part can be on either side. When the handle is in-line with the pipe, the valve is closed. The valve has a paddle in the opposite side of the handle that blocks whatever it's pointing at. So if valve #3 is turned to be in-line with the pipe, you will close the valve and starve your pump of cool water.

K,

Valve # 2 is called your "Intake" valve. It is used to select where the water going into your pump is coming from.. Generally from a Skimmer and/or Main Drain..

Valve # 3 is there so that when you can keep the pump from draining back into the pool if you open the filter or open the pump lid.

Valve #1 is your "Return" valve. It is used to decide where the water goes back to the pool. Generally this is either to the pool returns or to some water feature.

Edit.. Sorry, my brain and fingers got out of sync.. I have corrected my typo error on the valves #1 and 3... Oops.. :confused:

That said, you did not tell us much about your pool.. If you have a Spa, then there are many other configurations.