Need advice on leveling and water runoff

SCrmrct

Jun 23, 2019
South Carolina
Hi
I’m new to above ground pool installation and am looking for advice on leveling and potential water runoff near the pool. The pool is a 16 ft Summer Waves Elite.
We are installing the pool on a slight slope. I made the mistake of not starting my level from the lowest point. I was thinking I could build up the ground at the lowest point and hold the built up ground with landscape timbers. Total build up would be 4 inches. Should I just go ahead and make everything level to the lowest point or will timbers work?

The other question deals with potential water run off. The dug in side is about 8 inches below ground. The water runoff from the high ground comes in from that side. What happens to the runoff water and can it cause issues with the stability of the pool?

Thanks in advance for the help and advice.107940107941

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum:wave:

A 4 inch backfill, while not as good as virgin soil, is doable. The biggest issue will not be compaction but erosion. I would use pressure treated 6x6 lumber and not landscape timbers. That seemingly small 4" "retaining wall" needs to be firmly implanted into the virgin soil.

Not much you can do about the run off from the upper level. You could certainly dig out well past the pool wall and slope all around the edges to divert the water but I am not sure you need to be that thorough for a 4" drop.

Welcome to the forum:wave:

A 4 inch backfill, while not as good as virgin soil, is doable. The biggest issue will not be compaction but erosion. I would use pressure treated 6x6 lumber and not landscape timbers. That seemingly small 4" "retaining wall" needs to be firmly implanted into the virgin soil.

Not much you can do about the run off from the upper level. You could certainly dig out well past the pool wall and slope all around the edges to divert the water but I am not sure you need to be that thorough for a 4" drop.