mtswat

Apr 14, 2021
Lynchburg Virginia
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hello pool gurus! My name is Marcus and while I have been around pools my entire life this is my first attempt at owning one. It was just by happenstance actually. We bought a new home that happened to have a very nice, simple, above ground 8000 gallon pool, Hayward 1200 cartridge filter and a vinyl liner.

it has been a bit more difficult that I imagined it would be. We opened the pool a week and a half ago. A note from the previous owner informed me it was a baquacil pool. Not CDX, I found later it’s not actually baquacil but soft swim products. Never the less, it wasn’t chlorine, which is what I grew up with.

we knew that things would be a bit more expensive to upkeep it but decided to give it a try. After a week and 550 dollars in chemicals from the pool store with little to no positive results, I kicked the pool store to the curb and went I search of information on my own. I found the this forum late last week and decided to begin the chlorine conversion.

I purchased the TF-100 test kit with PH meter and XL options and began dosing the pool with liquid chlorine last week.

I have cleaned and switched the cartridge in the filter several times and the water seems better. However, today the FC tested at 18.5 ppm and seems to be staying around there. The water is still cloudy and there is a white film that keeps gathering on top of the water. PH is at 7.4 and because it hasn’t leveled off yet there is no CYA right now. image.jpg

Need some guidance from the experts my friends.

Keep SLAMING the pool. Wait until you are closer to done before you add the CYA because it'll stall you out. Keep cleaning your filters as you have. Brush the pool daily and keep testing so you're at SLAM levels. With no CYA, You dont have to bomb the pool with chlorine. 12ppm should be sufficient enough. It takes time, especially if you added more chemicals. That chlorine has to break all that down.