Losing Pressure When Attaching manual vacuum hose

Jun 13, 2018
midland City, al
Hi all, I'm a newbie to the forum, but not to above ground pools. Last summer my pump went out and I waited until this season to replace it with a new one. I had the Intex 2600 GPH sand filter pump and upgraded, or so I thought, to the Intex 3000 GPH pump. I also have a salt water chlorinator hooked to it and a skimmer basket.

Issue: The pump works fine with the salt water pump and skimmer basket attached. When I go to vacuum, using a manual vacuum with a hose that attaches to the inlet on the pool, (I remove the skimmer hose to do this) I immediately lose pressure and don't have enough suction on the vacuum to pick up much of anything. The strainer basket on the pump fills with bubbles and the water level in it drops about halfway. I never had this issue with any other pump I've used, and have had several over the years. I finally called Intex, twice, and after a lengthy discussion and no solution, they decided to send me a new pump which I'm still waiting on to arrive supposedly sometime later this week. My question, which they never seemed to understand (they kept telling me to hook the hose to the inlet and it would work...no, it doesn't work) is that the pump works fine until I hook the vacuum hose to it.