Just bought a house with a pool

May 24, 2017
polo IL
I am a disabled OIF vet.

My wife and I have never owned a pool before and it was not on our list of wants or even considerations in buying a home. We have 7 children age 16 to 4. Our oldest is heading to college this summer. I have included what we think that we have in my signature to the best of my ability. We have had the pool guy out that the previous owner used...and in this area he may be the only pool guy. He says our system is very simple and we only need to test it with strips instead of the other Taylor testing kits.

I am here to learn about H20 and the business of taking care of our family pool...

My main question is how much should opening the pool cost? {Shock, clean and hooking up the heater et al.}

My second question is with the equipment that I have (liquidator, nature 2 and sand filter), how hard is this going to be to keep it balanced and clean for my wife and children.

My third question is how much is it going to cost to keep heated? {I'm living on my disability only.}

Great setup you have there, the first order of business would be to order a proper test kit.
test strips or what we refer to as "guess strips" are just that...inaccurate and not the way to get real useable test results.

Either the Taylor K2006C or TF-100 will do.

Once you post a full set of results we can go from there. But no more pucks or shock, those add CYA and eventually
go over the recommended levels quite quickly and then algae or cloudy water begins....bleach only and it looks like
you will have that easy with that liquid chlorine pump box.

Read the ABC's of pool chemistry on this site, to get started and order a test kit, others will probably chime in.

I have that Taylor K2006c as I had read all of the chemistry on this site and knew I would need it.