Is it worth it having a high cya?

Feb 18, 2014
Houston, TX
Ive been using the tfp method for about 4 years now. I always kept cya to about 60ppm which would require me to buy alot of bleach for an entire week during the hot Houston summer.

I just replastered my pool and the mfg recommends 2-3ppm FC and 30ppm cya during startup. I find myself adding half a gallon each day to bring it up from 0 or 0.5 fc to 3 fc. Is there a downfall to letting fc drop that low?

Well right now i have 30 cya so i target 3.5 fc. My fc should never drop below 2.2

If my cya were 60 cya i would target 6.8 fc and fc should never drop below 4.4.

My point is that whether i keep my cya at 30 or 60 and maintain the proper fc when adjusting every evening. During the hot days fc will still go below the "min fc levels" regardless of which cya i have

So what is the actual benefit of having a 60 to a 30 cya?

Sorry I misread and through you were already at 60. I can tell that my FC demand decreases at 80 CYA vs 60 (I estimate FC demand in my pool at 60 up to 2.5 per day and at 80 only 1.5 max) Of course every pool is different but 60 should have much lower demand than 30

During the hot days if your FC is dropping below the minimum then your target is not high enough. The most important thing is to keep it above the minimum at all times. I'm also not really sure where you got those recommended levels with the decimal places. I thought everywhere that we presented targets were rounded.

The higher the cya, the lower the percentage of FC you will lose to the Sun. Even though your target FC might be higher; with the higher cya you should actually be losing fewer ppm's each day to the Sun.

jbizzle,
Since we have similar gallon amounts and sunny temperatures, what do you keep your cya and target fc at?

I just remember feeling like 60cya was not protecting my fc enough because it would drop below the min fc levels. Tried many OCLT and passed them. I always check my pool from 7to8pm.