How to cut-in replacement PVC plumbing?

NickinTX

Feb 22, 2020
Austin, TX
Hello all. My Jandy CL460 cartridge filter split open, so I am replacing the filter unit. However, the new unit was redesigned by Jandy, so the PVC lengths are slightly different. Before I start cutting the new plumbing, I wanted to ask two questions.

1) Can I use water (or another lubricant) to test the newly cut PVC pipes/unions before I glue them? Without lubricant, the pipes do not seat as deeply as they do with primer/cement. I'm guessing there is a good option for testing the connections.

2) What is the best way to guesstimate the required pipe lengths before I start cutting? Again, I'm hoping someone has a simple method or video to help me piece this project back together.

Thanks!
Nick

Thanks, Mark. Here are two pictures. I need to connect the top pipe (from filter to the return line), and this is my first time working with pool plumbing. I cut and cemented a piece too short, so I will have the replacement unions in a few days. The pipe structure is fairly rigid, so I need to make sure the new plumbing mates directly to the filter's outlet. This is why I was wondering if I can use a lubricant to test the length/fit of the PVC before I add the cement. The pipe and connections slide easily with primer/cement, but you have almost no working time since it sets so fast. When the pipe is dry, they don't seat to normal depth. That's how I messed up on the other union this morning. I appreciate any help!

Nick

Attachments

• 20200519_154329_resized.jpg
    20200519_154329_resized.jpg
    271.9 KB · Views: 38
  • 20200519_154337_resized.jpg
    20200519_154337_resized.jpg
    246.9 KB · Views: 38
Is that union in the photo glued in? If not, I would start with that. Then progressively work out from there with the straight pipe, then the elbow, then the small straight, then the union.