Hot tub running costs

dunginhawk

Bronze Supporter
Jul 10, 2018
CLIVE/IA
Good morning.
I had a question regarding the price to keep a hot tub running, electricity wise.
Now I understand there are a lot of factors including
- Temperature of hot tub water
- Temperature of ambient air
- Electricity Costs
- How often you use it (thus losing heat)
- Pump run time (longer for SWG etc)
- If you drained/filled that month.
- How much insulation, and what kind is in your hot tub.

Im sure there are others, but im fairly new at this.
I am more trying to figure out if my electrical bill is on par, or too high...
I may 7cents per KW hour. Last month I used just over 1000kw on the hot tub circuit (its a dedicated meter only for hot tub, currently).
My bill was $110. That counts a minimum 10$ service charge etc that have to come on a meter.
I keep my tub about 103-104 and use it probably 5-7 times per week for 20-45 minutes.
I run my pumps 8 hours per day for the SWG to work properly.
I live in Iowa where the avg temp last month was about 32 degrees. Its about to get REAL cold soon (-20) so im sure that will be brutal.

Just curious if those numbers are in line for what other folks might expect from their hot tub?

Thanks

dih,

I think location is probably the driving factor here...

I live in a much warmer area and estimate my tub costs me about $25 bucks a month on average. We use it everyday and I open the cover a couple of times a week to let it vent for a couple of hours. Mine runs at 95 degrees when not in use and ramps up to 104 just before we normally go in.

Even in the winter it will often get hotter than 95 just because of the sun on the cover and the fact that my small circulation pump runs 247..

Thanks,

Jim R.

Like Jim said - "Location, location, location..."