CML

Mar 12, 2021
Mid Atlantic area
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
I'm not a new pool owner, but am new to this forum. I have some knowledge of pool chemistry and how to care for the pool, but have not had to deal with the specific issues that I am having now...and there are many!

Today I'm concerned with the high level of phosphates that just won't come down despite using almost 1 gallon of phosphate remover (Natural Chemistry Trade Grade Phosphate Remover from Leslie's).

We recently had our pool re-plastered in a Wet Edge Luna Quartz finish. Just as they finished up the plastering, the pool water delivery truck showed up to fill the pool with water from a local hydrant. Unfortunately I can't figure out how to post a picture on this site (!) but suffice it to say...it was dark brown disgusting water. We couldn't even see the bottom of the NEWLY PLASTERED pool!!! They immediately started filtering the dirty water. From what we could see from the shallow end, the sediment at the bottom was rust in color. They immediately added a sequestering agent/metal out product (phosphate free, from Leslie's), I believe they added some muriatic acid to prevent staining (?) and a cuLater packet in the skimmer, vacuumed w a brush vac almost every day. From the day after plaster day, and all days going forward, the pool chemistries (pH, TA, Ca Hardness) were all in the proper ranges except for the phosphates which were always elevated - well over 5500. Although we had trouble maintaining the chlorine levels over this past month, we didn't treat for for elevated phosphate levels for 30 days, per Wet Edge start up instruction. No algae problems, yet.