Glen Carbon IL
Pool Size
Surface
Fiberglass
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Hayward Aqua Rite (T-15)
I'm Dave, new to the forum. I've been a pool professional since '98 and thought I'd join in, ask some questions, maybe even help answer some.

Hi Dave, welcome to TFP.. :shark:

I suggest that you take a read through our Pool School and see what we teach as far as balancing pool water chemicals. Our advice is usually very different than most pool stores and many pool professionals.... Basically we leave all the pool store "magic" potions on the shelf.. :mrgreen:

Thanks,

Jim R.

Hello Jim!

I'm beginning to see that things are taught a little differently here. I've read the Pool School and understand the whys and why nots. I may use some of the knowledge there, and I may not... for instance, I find that the thinking here on phosphate removers may not work for everyone. Some pool owners will not be able to maintain a proper Chlorine/CYA/algaecide balance to combat algae in the presence of phosphates. It will be much easier for them to use phosphate removers, with money not being a hinderence.

Just a quick thought as I don't see that side of things mentioned when I see the negatives of using phosphate removers.

We don't recommend the routine use of algaecides (esp.the cheap ones with copper, ugh!) because we figure if you keep your FC balanced properly against the CYA...why add an unnecessary chemical??

Northerners with long, long winters sometimes use it, and then we recommend using Polyquat 60 only.

Welcome to TFP, Diggy :) I dig the screen name.

Maddie 🐞

Welcome! :wave:

full

Hello woody, Texas, and Yippee.