Houston, Texas
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-40
I have a Master Temp 400 and am getting back to the project of installing a bypass using the actuator port in the heater. One of the questions I have am pondering is if the onboard actuator control in the heater has a freeze control mode similar to the easy touch where it changes the actuator position every so often to keep water running through both sets of pipes.

Any input on the freeze protection would be very much appreciated.

The onboard actuator control does not work correctly, at this time. Pentair is aware of it and is supposedly working on it. It will apparently require a firmware update that rumor has it may require a new control board. What is happening is that it activates the bypass valve correctly, when a call for heat is made, but after the internal cooldown period (1 minute I believe) it never returns the valve to the home position.

That is not what you asked for but thought I should let you know about that.

Regarding the freeze protection, it does not cycle the valve back and forth. In the instructions, it states that you should set the valve position to close the bypass line when a call for heat is made, and the home position should be set such that the valve is only about half closed when it is bypassing. This allows for some amount of flow through the heater to prevent freezing issues, and keep the water from becoming stagnant in the heat exchanger.

I initially configured mine to completely close off the heater when it was bypassing, but after a discussion here, decided to set it per Pentair's instructions. There was no reduction in the flow efficiency by doing this. Prior to the bypass loop, I had to run at 1600RPM to satisfy the flow switch for the SWCG. After, with the heater fully closed, I was able to reduce to 1200RPM. With the bypass half open, still able to satisfy the flow switch at 1200RPM.

--Jeff