Hayward VSP pump issue

Modnar

Jul 26, 2022
Central Florida
Hi all, noob here.

I had an issue with my Omnilogic LCD screen and ended up having to replace the power supply and the LCD screen. Changing out the screen required registering a new MSP ID. I did all that, upgraded the firmware, and installed my configuration file. After all this I was able to run some features of the pool, but not the main pump. I got on the phone with Hayward technical support and they told me to do a factory reset and reconfigure the pool. When I went to add my Hayward VSP pump, it wasn't listed. No HUA. I went and looked at the pump and it says that the comm buss is offline. I did a power cycle and have the same issue.

Is my pump bad?

Welcome to TFP.

Turn off the pump and leave it off for 30 minutes even though Hayward says it only needs 15 minutes for the drive to reset.

Hayward has seen some instances where the HUA from a Gen 3 VS pump was not visible to the Omni control.

These instances have occurred after:
  • A power brownout
  • The pump was installed with incorrect dipswitch position and the dipswitch was moved while power to the pump was still on.

Once Power was restored, or the pump powered down and back up the HUA would not populate into the control.

Solution that Hayward found is that power needs to be turned off to the pump for a MINIMUM of 5 minutes and as much as 15 minutes to allow the drive to reset. Once power is restored the HUA was visible to the Omni and the pump worked normally.

See item 6 in...

Welcome to TFP.

Turn off the pump and leave it off for 30 minutes even though Hayward says it only needs 15 minutes for the drive to reset.

Hayward has seen some instances where the HUA from a Gen 3 VS pump was not visible to the Omni control.

These instances have occurred after:
  • A power brownout
  • The pump was installed with incorrect dipswitch position and the dipswitch was moved while power to the pump was still on.